Home     About Us     News     Sponsors     Tickets     Game Day      Past Games     Contact Us

Honorary Chair

Buzz Aldrin
Apollo Astronaut Buzz Aldrin

The organizing committee for the annual Adirondack Trust Allegiance Bowl announced Apollo 11 astronaut Dr. Buzz Aldrin, pilot of the first manned mission to the Moon, has been named the Honorary Chair of the 2011 Adirondack Trust Allegiance Bowl.

The charity sprint football game will feature one of sport's greatest rivalries; Dr. Aldrin's alma mater, the United State Military Academy at West Point (Army), and the United States Naval Academy at Annapolis (Navy). Proceeds from the event will benefit the Saratoga Springs and Ballston Spa Pop Warner youth football and cheerleading programs.

On July 20, 1969, Dr. Aldrin and Neil Armstrong became the first two humans to set foot on another world. Dr. Aldrin spent 21 hours on the lunar surface with the largest television audience in history, an
estimated 600 million people worldwide, watching this unprecedented heroic endeavor.

No stranger to the sport of football, Dr. Aldrin played center on the 1946 Montclair (NJ) State High School Championship football team, and his love of the sport continues today. "I have seen many Army-Navy football games and know that the 2011 Allegiance Bowl will be an epic contest between two great teams," he said.

The Allegiance Bowl Committee extends its heartfelt appreciation of Dr. Aldrin for his support of the Adirondack Trust Allegiance Bowl, "America's Premier Sprint Football Event."

Sprint football teams from Army and Navy will meet for one of the sport's greatest rivalries in Saratoga Springs on Saturday, September 17th, 2011 at the High School football field.

Widely regarded as America's premier sprint football event, the Adirondack Trust Allegiance Bowl features varsity teams from the (CSFL) and benefits local youth programs. Since its inception, the Allegiance Bowl has raised over $50,000 for local youth charities.

(Dr. Aldrin's is not currently scheduled to appear)

All Contents © Copyright 2007-2019 - The Allegiance Bowl Committee, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.
Web Site Designed & Programmed by SPA.NET